Things to Note About Missouri’s Amendment 3

Things to Note About Missouri’s Amendment 3

This election recreational marijuana is on the ballot in Missouri in the form of Amendment 3. The amendment is a lengthy, 38-page document that covers rules and regulations for medical and recreational cannabis use in the state of Missouri. A large section of the amendment focuses on how businesses will operate in the cannabis industry, and opens the door for microbusinesses with a lottery system to award qualifying applicants. The amendment also provides laws for the recreational use of cannabis by adults age 21 or older, and details changes to any current regulations medical patients must follow. Another key feature of the amendment allows for petitions for those currently in prison or under parole or probation for non-violent marijuana offenses to have their records expunged. The bill can be read in its entirety at:

Here are some important things to note about Amendment 3 regarding medical, cultivation, and recreational marijuana regulations.



  • Gives private doctors and nurse practitioners the ability to certify people in the medical marijuana program rather than only the DHSS.
  • Lengthens the amount of time medical cards are good from 1 to 3 years, whether patient or cultivator cards. Patient card cost remaining $25 to the state, cultivator card cost lowering to $50.
  •  Raises standard allotment of 4 ounces per patient to 6 ounces.
  • Medical marijuana cannot be used against a patient when it shows on a drug test. Employers can still enforce a drug free environment and not allow employees to work under the influence. Landlords can prohibit smoking on their property, but not other forms of cannabis consumption or possession.
  • Medicinal marijuana tax rates will be lower than recreational tax rates.



  • Increases duration of card from 1 to 3 years.
  • Allows for 6 flowering and 6 non-flowering plants, as well as 6 clones.
  • Non-medical cultivators may apply for a registration card to grow in their home.
  • Plants and marijuana products exceeding 3 ounces would have to be kept in a private, locked space.



  • Allows for sale of marijuana to adults age 21 or older in the state of Missouri.
  • Recreational marijuana users may possess up to 3 ounces of marijuana.
  • Sets a 6% tax on the retail price of recreational marijuana.


The amendment makes it easy to find any changes or additions to the laws by striking through language that will be deleted from the bill and underlining new or additional guidelines. Staying properly informed on the issues can help voters make the right decisions for shaping our state. You can make your voice heard on Amendment 3 by voting on Tuesday, November 8th.